High Level Structure for MS Standards

| January 14, 2011

An initiative has been underway within ISO that is likely to have a significant long-term impact on all management systems within an organization – including occupational health and safety management systems.

This is the development of a document that sets out a common High Level Structure and core definitions to be used in all ISO management system standards.  This document was developed by an ISO Joint Technical Coordination Group (JTCG) tasked by the ISO Technical Management Board (TMB).  It was published as JTCG N44 in December 2010.

As set out in this document, all management system standards will be required to use the same top level structure, with the following required elements:

  • Context of the Organization
  • Leadership
  • Planning
  • Support
  • Operation
  • Performance Evaluation
  • Improvement

One of the first standards that this ISO initiative is likely to impact wil be ISO 14001.  The revision of ISO 14001 is expected to start later this year. This revision will require restructuring the standard into the High Level Structure set out in JTCG N44.

© ENLAR® Compliance Services, Inc. (2011)

Category: Standard Development, Standards & Certification

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. […] a previous blog, I discussed the new High Level Structure and identical text requirements that has been proposed […]